Deemed-to-be varsities in a fix after SC order; directed to curb the “University” Tag

Courtesy - India Today
Courtesy - India Today

Higher institutions which are yet to be granted “deemed” status by the Universities Grants Commission (UGC), are now in a fix after the Supreme Court’s latest directive restraining them from associating the word “university” with their names

Christ College, Manipal Academy of Higher Education and Symbiosis International University are among the educational institutions in India that have been asked to drop the word ‘University’ from their names.

The change does not affect degrees offered by the institutions and only affects the name of the institution.

A notice was issued to seven varsities on Wednesday stating ‘a last chance was given to the Institution Deemed to be University to immediately discontinue with the name of the Deemed to be University using the word ‘University’ and submit an alternative proposal’.
The seven universities who were warned are

  1. Christ University – Bangalore, Karnataka
  2. Jain University – Bangalore, Karnataka
  3. Lingaya’s University – Old Faridabad, Faridabad Haryana
  4. Maharishi Markandeshwar University – Ambala, Haryana
  5. Yenepoya University – Mangalore, Karnataka
  6. SYMBIOSIS International University – Pune, Maharashtra
  7. Gurukul Kangri Vishwavidyalaya – Haridwar, Uttrakhand

The UGC notice further said, “Failure to comply with these directions would amount to violation of the UGC (lnstitutions Deemed to be Universities) Regulations, 2016 and necessary action would be initiated against the Institution Deemed to be University in accordance with Clause 22.0 of these Regulations which may include recommending withdrawal of the declaration notifying the institution as an Institution Deemed to be University to the Central Government.”

The UGC was following up a Supreme Court judgement dated November 3, asking the UGC to strictly implement Section 23 of the UGC Act, 1956 which prohibits the use of the word ‘university’. In a letter dated November 10, the UGC listed 123 institutions to drop the word ‘university’ from its names.

With the same instructions, the circular mentioned names of the following 22 institutions :

  1. Punjab Engineering College – Chandigarh
  2. National University of Educational Planning & Administration – Delhi
  3. TERI School of Advanced Studies – New Delhi
  4. Academy of Higher Education and Research, J.N.Medical College Campus – Belgaum, Karnataka
  5. Manipal Academy of Higher Education – Manipal, Karnataka
  6. Kalinga Insitute of Industrial Technology – Bhubaneshwar, Orissa
  7. Thapar Institute of Engineering & Technology – Patiala, Punjab
  8. Banasthali Vidyapith – Banasthali, Rajasthan
  9. Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham – Coimbatore Tamil Nadu
  10. B.S. Abdur Rahman Institute of Science & Technology – Chennai, Tamil Nadu
  11. Meenakshi Academy of Higher Education and Research – Chennai, Tamil Nadu
  12. Ponnaiyah Ramajayam Institute of Science & Technology (PRIST) – Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu
  13. Sathyabama Institute of Science and Technology – Chennai, Tamil Nadu
  14. Saveetha Institute of Medical and Technical Sciences – Chennai, Tamil Nadu
  15. Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (SASTRA) – Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu
  16. S.R.M Institute of Science and Technology – Chennai, Tamil Nadu
  17. Sri Ramachandra Medical College and Research Institute – Chennai, Tamil Nadu
  18. Vinayaka Mission’s Research Foundation, Sankari Mani Road – Salem, Tamil Nadu
  19. Central Institute of Higher Tibetan Studies – Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh
  20. Sam Higginbottom Institute of Agriculture, Technology & Sciences – Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh
  21. Shobit Institute of Engineering & Technology – Meerut, Uttar Pradesh
  22. Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute – Howrah, West Bengal



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here