SGGSCC Awarded Innovation Project Code 302 by University of Delhi


Sri Guru Gobind Singh College of Commerce (SGGSCC), University of Delhi, Pitam Pura, has been awarded an Innovation Project code 302 by University of Delhi (2015-16) entitled  “Empowering Differently-Abled Students through E-Learning at Higher Education”. The research team included a university mentor, three principle investigators and ten college students The present paper aimed at identifying problems in dissemination of knowledge to students in higher education through e-learning and locating some plausible solutions for these.
Though e-learning has become a blessing for visually impaired students at higher education level, it is at the same time plagued with problems of availability, accessibility, efficacy, sufficiency and utility of e-learning systems. The aspect that is not intricate is the affordability of E-Systems but availability of online e-learning facilities, accessibility of websites, availability of books in all formats, description of pictures along with images, good screen readers for all languages and affordability of original software are some of the problems areas that continue to bother these students.
After deliberation with key stakeholders, the team provided some operational suggestions along with devising E-Pub Modules for various courses. E-Pub format is a universal design as it includes audio, text and description of images, graphs, tables etc. The feedback of the disabled students gave us encouraging results and we recommend to all the service providers to use this E-Pub format to empower the differently abled student at higher education.
The details of the Principal Investigators and Student Investigators are:

Principal Investigators

  • Kawal GillDepartment of Commerce, SGGSCC
  • Rekha Sharma – Department of Economics, SGGSCC
  • Renu Gupta – Department of Commerce, SGGSCC

Student Investigators

Amardeep Singh Narang – B.A. (Hons) Economics
Piyush Gandhi – B.A. (Hons) Economics
Divyanshu Bali – B.A. (Hons) Economics
Gurbani Chhabra – B.A. (Hons) Economics
Tarandeep Kaur – B.A. (Hons) Economics
Ravisha Kathuria – B.Com (Hons)
Keshav Dingliwala – B.A. (Hons) Economics
Abhay Varshney – Bachelors of Business Economics
Aadit Aggarwal – Bachelors of Business Economics
Kunal Goel – B.Com(Prog) Department of Commerce




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here