DUSU elections: Final list out, 4 women candidates for President’s post


The final list of candidates for the Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) polls scheduled for September 9 has been declared. Out of the total 7 candidates for the post of President, 4 are women. Three of the five people vying for the vice-president’s post are also female candidates. In all there are 17 candidates in the race, four for vice president post and three each for secretary and joint secretary.

While the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and the National Students’ Union (NSUI) have fielded one woman candidate each, the All India Students’ Association (AISA) has put forward the names of three women candidates.

ABVP has been winning all the four posts- president, vice president, secretary and joint secretary- since the past 2 years in DUSU, and this time has chosen Amit Tanwar, a first year MA Hindi student of PGDAV college as its Presidential candidate. NSUI has fielded first-year LLB student Nikhil Yadav as its presidential candidate, while the AISA’s presidential candidate is Kawalpreet Kaur, also a law student.

Aam Aadmi Party’s students’ outfit CYSS which contested the 2015 DUSU polls for the first time decided to stay away from the polls, making the 2016 elections a three-way contest between ABVP-AISA-NSUI.


Image credits: Source


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here