Left Alliance Wins All 4 Posts in JNU Students’ Union Elections


The Left-Unity Alliance has swept all four seats of President, Vice-President, General Secretary and Joint Secretary in the JNU Student Union Elections, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) defeated by a considerable margin. The results were declared on Saturday.
This was the first time the CPI(ML)’S student wing All-India Students Association(AISA) had formed an alliance with the Student Federation of India (SFI).
Mohit Pandey has been elected as the JNUSU President, defeating Rahul Sonpimple of Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students Association (BAPSA) by a margin of 409 votes. Amal PP won the Vice-Presidential post with the highest margin of 1,304 votes, defeating Ravi Ranjan Choudhary.
Satapurta Chakraborty, the only girl in the newly elected panel, polled 2,424 votes, defeating Vijay Kumar by a margin of 1,094 votes for the post of General Secretary.
Other participating candidates in the JNUSU belonged to Congress’ NSUI and Students Front for Swaraj (SFS), the Student wing of Swaraj Abhiyan.
The elections, which took place on Friday, saw a voter turnout of 60 percent, significantly higher than the last two years.
The ABVP however won three of the top four posts in the Delhi University Student Union (DUSU) elections, although it was one fewer than the last two years.


Image credits: Source


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here